Professor Sujit Dey
Director CWC, Professor


Sujit Dey is a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Director of the Center for Wireless Communications, and the Director of the Institute for the Global Entrepreneur at University of California, San Diego.  He heads the Mobile Systems Design Laboratory, developing innovative and sustainable edge computing, networking and communications, multi-modal sensor fusion, and deep learning algorithms and architectures to enable novel 5G and 6G use cases like predictive personalized health, X-Reality, smart mobility and smart manufacturing. He has created inter-disciplinary programs involving multiple UCSD schools as well as community, city and industry partners; notably the Connected Health Program in 2016 and the Smart Transportation Innovation Program in 2018. In 2017, he was appointed as an Adjunct Professor, Rady School of Management, and the Jacobs Family Endowed Chair in Engineering Management Leadership.

Dr. Dey served as the Faculty Director of the von Liebig Entrepreneurism Center from 2013-2015, and as the Chief Scientist, Mobile Networks, at Allot Communications from 2012-2013. In 2015, he co-founded igrenEnergi, providing intelligent battery technology and solutions for EV mobility services. He founded Ortiva Wireless in 2004, where he served as its founding CEO and later as CTO and Chief Technologist till its acquisition by Allot Communications in 2012. Prior to Ortiva, he served as the Chair of the Advisory Board of Zyray Wireless till its acquisition by Broadcom in 2004, and as an advisor to multiple companies including ST Microelectronics and NEC. Prior to joining UCSD in 1997, he was a Senior Research Staff Member at NEC C&C Research Laboratories in Princeton, NJ. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Duke University in 1991.

Dr. Dey has co-authored more than 250 publications, and a book on low-power design. He holds 18 U.S. and 2 international patents, resulting in multiple technology licensing and commercialization. He has been a recipient of nine IEEE/ACM Best Paper Awards, and has chaired multiple IEEE conferences and workshops. Dr. Dey is a Fellow of the IEEE